Leave a comment

Chris Brown May Have Had it Right


For the music opinions I usually leave it to my homeboy MJC, but listening to Kiss 103.5 today, something I rarely do, provoked me to rant against the singer Rihanna.  Obviously, the number one rule in dating women for men is that under no circumstances whatsoever are you allowed to physically or sexually abuse a woman.  That being said, Chris Brown a year or so ago was condemned for slapping his girlfriend Rihanna which lead to their break up.  The rumor is that the female pop-star had an STD and neglected to tell Chris Brown about it.  I’m not saying that what Chris Brown did was right, in fact I absolutely despise him because he hit her, but I would have been angry too if my girlfriend had an STD and she did not tell me about it beforehand.  The reasoning for my rant against Rihanna stems from the fact that teenage girls love her music, and sing along with her in the car or at parties.  However, listening closely to most of her hit songs that are played on the radio, maybe parents should rethink letting their daughters listen to her music.  Two of her most popular songs, which can be heard on the radio almost on repeat are titled “S&M” and “Rude Boy.”  Let me give you a sample of what both of these songs’ choruses sound like.  The chorus to “S&M” goes, “‘Cause I may be bad, but I’m perfectly good at it Sex in the air, I don’t care, I love the smell of it, Sticks and stones may break my bones, But chains and whips excite me.”  And the chorus to “Rude Boy” states, “Come here, rude boy, boy, can you get it up? Come here, rude boy, boy, is you big enough? Take it, take it, baby, baby, take it, take it, love me, love me.”  Now, I might sound like a bitter old man here, but could she more blatantly be talking about how slutty she is?  This is what our teenage female youth’s are listening to, and singing along to the words.  Not only is it not even really music, but she is teaching girls to “Take it, and love it” and “To love the smell of sex in the air.”  I understand her voice is adequate when computer generated, and her beats are relatively catchy, but come on now, do we really want our youth listening to this crap?

Leave a Reply

